[Total: 1 Average: 5]

If you need to improve the quality of your living situation, Hanfincal will be glad to show you how to apply for Section 8 in Wisconsin (WI). This is a useful A to Z guidance for those in need.

1. What is Section 8 Housing in Wisconsin?

Section 8, or The Housing Choice Voucher Program in Wisconsin, is a rent subsidy program funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The program assists low-income families in obtaining decent housing from private property owners. The financing covers some or all of the rent for those who qualify.

Wisconsin distributes HUD funds to individual cities and counties, which oversee Section 8 programs in their respective communities. Applicants can apply for the voucher program through a HUD-approved nonprofit organization or charity, or through the local public housing authority, also known as the Public Housing Authority (PHA).

2. How Do You Qualify For Low Income Housing In Wisconsin?

To qualify for low-income housing in Wisconsin, you must meet these qualifications:

  • The applicant must be at least 18 years old.
  • According to HUD, you must first be a U.S. citizen or have eligible immigration status. Furthermore, you must be a Wisconsin resident.
  • You must also include information about your wages and assets, such as your bank account balances.
  • The total family income of applicants for the Wisconsin Section 8 (Housing Choice Voucher) Program must be equal to or less than the specified income limits. These income limits are highlighted on this link and are based on family size and the area’s median income.
how to apply for section 8 in wisconsin | Hanfincal

How do you qualify for low-income housing

3. How To Apply For Section 8 In Wisconsin?

To apply for Section 8 housing in Wisconsin, you should follow these steps:

  • Step 1: You can contact or visit your Wisconsin Section 8 Local Public Housing Authority (PHA) office to have information about the application process.
  • Step 2: Once the waiting lists are open, you should prepare some necessary documents to apply:
    • Your current lease.
    • Utility bill.
    • A renter’s insurance policy, pay stubs, a Social Security insurance award letter.
    • Your state ID or driver’s license with your current address on it.
  • Step 3: After successfully completing the application process, you will be placed on a waiting list and given a housing choice voucher.

Once you successfully get your Section 8 Voucher, you need to find a landlord and PHA will next pay directly to the landlord every month.

Do you take more than a year but didn’t get a Section 8 voucher? To receive Section 8 HCV fast, we can help you here.


4. Section 8 Waiting Lists That Are Open In Wisconsin

There are eighteen Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Waiting Lists in Wisconsin that are either always open or have not announced a closing date.

  • Marshfield Community Development Authority
  • Shawano City Housing Authority
  • Sheboygan Housing Authority
  • New London Housing Authority
  • Rhinelander Housing Authority
  • Housing Authority of Trempealeau County
  • Dodge County Housing Authority
  • Burnett County Housing Authority
  • Chippewa County Housing Authority
  • Brown County, Wisconsin BCHA
  • Washington County, Wisconsin
  • Manitowoc County, Wisconsin
  • Brown County, Wisconsin WHEDA
  • Calumet, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan County; and the City of Hartford, Wisconsin
  • La Crosse, Wisconsin Mainstream
  • Waukesha County, WI Section 8 HCV Waiting List
  • Juneau County, Wisconsin
  • Milwaukee, WI Section 8 HCV, Section 8 PBV, and Public Housing Waiting Lists

Hanfincal thinks that you have figured out how to apply for Section 8 in Wisconsin (WI) after reading the blog. Leave us some comments or messages if you need more information.

==> Read More: