[Total: 1 Average: 5]

How to apply for Section 8 in North Carolina (NC) if you or your family member is disabled? How to apply for low income housing in NC if you are an immigrant? How do I apply for section 8 in NC if I have a very low income? When knowing the process, you can quickly get a suitable home at an affordable price in this state. If you meet its requirements, why don’t you apply for it? Hanfincal will show you straightforward guidelines as below.

1. What is Section 8 Housing in North Carolina?

Section 8 Housing in North Carolina is a federal program of the U.S government that provides rental subsidies to very low-income families in the state. This program now extends its benefits to families with annual incomes up to 50% of the median income level, but 75% of vouchers go to only families with 30% or less (very low income).

Your household will receive a subsidy to assist you in meeting your monthly rent obligations. You must pay 30% of your gross income toward rent, and the remaining is a subsidy paid directly to your landlord by the Public Housing Authority. Plus, you must live in a North Carolina Section 8-approved rental home.

The mission of North Carolina Section 8 housing is to assist North Carolina households in finding safe and affordable housing through two primary facilities: the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and the North Carolina Department of Administration.

You are eligible for a housing subsidy when you are currently homeless or displaced from your home due to domestic violence. Low-income households, as well as those with disabled or elderly members, are eligible for assistance. Section 8 programs in North Carolina include:

2. Who can qualify for Section 8 Housing in North Carolina (NC)?

To qualify for a Section 8 housing voucher in North Carolina, you must reach these requirements:

  • Income limits: Income is the most important factor in Section 8 in NC and it’s based on your family size. PHAs give 75% of vouchers to families earning less than 30% of the median income and the rest to families earning less than 50% of the median income.
  • Citizenship: Section 8 applicants must be U.S citizens or naturalized aliens living in North Carolina.
  • Family: To receive a Section 8 voucher, a family must meet the definition of a family. Individuals and groups of people living together can be considered family.
  • Criminal: If anyone in the household is charged with a drug or sexual offense, eligibility for Section 8 in North Carolina will be denied for up to three years.
Who can qualify for Section 8 Housing in North Carolina (NC)?

Who can qualify for Section 8 Housing in North Carolina (NC)?

3. How to apply for Section 8 in North Carolina?

To apply for Section 8 in North Carolina, you can apply online or in-person at your local Public Housing Authorities (PHAs) office if the waiting lists are open.

Here are 5 steps you can follow to get your Section 8 housing voucher:

  • Step 1: First you can contact your local PHAs to know about the opening dates of the HCV waiting list. You can find all information about the nearest PHA at this link.
  • Step 2: If some waiting lists become available, you should be prepared to obtain a printed copy of the application, complete it by hand, and hand it to a PHA representative.
  • Step 3: When you submit your application, your name is added to the waiting list, and PHA will notify you of that information. The interview will be scheduled for you after that.
  • Step 4: When you attend this interview, you must bring all necessary documents (such as Social Security number, income, citizenship documents, and residency). A PHA representative will review all of your documents to ensure you meet the program’s eligibility requirements.
  • Step 5: If you are chosen for the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher, a Public Housing Agency will contact you. You must next find an affordable unit and sign a lease with your landlord.

If you want to boost your chances of getting approval for this program, click the button below to explore how valuable things you can get.


4. North Carolina Section 8 Waiting Lists open now

There are 7 Section 8 Waiting Lists that are open now in North Carolina until further notice:

There is 1 Section 8 Waiting List that will open soon in North Carolina:

  • Alexander, Burke, Caldwell and Catawba County, NC Section 8 HCV Waiting List.

After reading this article from Hanfincal, do you see how simple it is? The process for determining how to apply for Section 8 in North Carolina is simple, but the waiting period can last years. That is why you should stay involved and contact your local PHA for the most up-to-date information and the status of your name on the waiting list. We hope you will get the desired house in the shortest time.

==> Read More: