[Total: 1 Average: 5]

Is there anyone who can help you with how to apply for Section 8 in Minnesota (MN)? Hanfincal should be your first choice. Getting affordable housing is not a challenging task from now. Follow our valuable instructions to make the process go more smoothly.

1. What is Section 8 Housing in Minnesota?

Section 8 Housing program in Minnesota is a federal housing assistance program for very low-income tenants who cannot afford safe and sanitary housing with their household income.

Section 8 program is managed both federally by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and locally by Public Housing Authorities (PHAs) across the state. This program guarantees that you will not have to pay more than 30% of your annual gross income for rent. To get a Section 8 housing voucher, you should meet the eligibility requirements of this program.

For low-income households, Section 8 services include the following programs:

2. How to qualify for Section 8 in Minnesota?

To be eligible for Section 8 in Minnesota, you must:

  • meet the income limits set by the HUD. Generally, the income of your family can not exceed 50% of the AMI (area median income) in your state. The income limits are based on your family size.
  • live with a disabled or elderly person.
  • be able to withstand a criminal background check.
  • must be at least 18 years old.
  • be a Minnesota resident.
  • be a United States resident or have eligible immigration status.
  • not have a negative rental history with a landlord.
  • no previous defaults on rental agreements or leases.
  • not be evicted from public housing because of criminal drug activity.
How To Apply For Section 8 In Minnesota?

How to qualify for Section 8 in Minnesota?

3. How to apply for Section 8 in Minnesota (MN)?

To apply for Section 8 housing in Minnesota (MN), you should follow these steps:

  • Step 1: You can contact or visit your Minnesota Section 8 local Public Housing Authority (PHA) office to have information about the application process.
  • Step 2: Once it opens, you should fill out the application form online and submit it to your local PHA. The PHA office will contact you and require you to submit documentation and a criminal background check. A PHA representative may also interview you.
  • Step 3: When your application is received, the PHA will notify you. You must find the landlord and sign the lease as a tenant. PHA will pay directly to your landlord with about 70% of house rent and you will pay the rest.

Depending on the size of the family, the participant can choose an apartment, a single-family house, or a townhouse that meets housing standard requirements.

Do you take more than a year but didn’t get a Section 8 voucher? To receive Section 8 HCV fast, we can help you here.


4. Section 8 waiting lists that are open in Minnesota

There are 11 Section 8 waiting lists that are open in Minnesota now until further notice, including:

  • Aitkin and Mille Lacs County, MN Limited Section 8 HCV Waiting List.
  • Carlton County, Minnesota.
  • Clay County, MN Limited Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Waiting List.
  • Dakota County, MN Section 8 HCV Waiting List.
  • Housing and Redevelopment Authority of Pipestone.
  • Itasca Housing and Redevelopment Authority.
  • Le Sueur and Faribault County, Minnesota Limited.
  • Multi-County, Minnesota Section 8 HCV Waiting List.
  • Northwest Minnesota Multi-County Housing and Redevelopment Authority.
  • Rice County, MN Section 8 HCV Waiting List.
  • Worthington Housing and Redevelopment Authority.

Do you have any questions about how to apply for Section 8 in Minnesota (MN)? If so, please share your thoughts with Hanfincal via social media or leave a comment below. We are always grateful for your contributions.

==> Read More: