[Total: 2 Average: 5]

To improve the quality of life, especially for a Kansas resident, knowing how to apply for Section 8 in Kansas is a perfect way. Let’s find more detail about the process with Hanfincal in this article.

1. What is Section 8 Housing in Kansas?

Section 8 is federal government rental assistance funded by the U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and the Public Housing Authorities (PHAs) at the local level in each state, including the Public Housing and Housing Choice Voucher programs.

The Kansas Section 8 Vouchers program is designed to help extremely low-income families, the elderly, and the disabled afford decent, safe and sanitary housing. The participants can choose to live in any city or apartment that meets the program’s standards.

2. How To Qualify For Section 8 In Kansas?

To be eligible for the Section 8 Program in Kansas, you must meet the following requirements:

  • You have to meet the definition of a family.
  • You must be a U.S citizen, have eligible immigration status, and be a resident of Kansas.
  • You must show proof of residency and any criminal history to the Kansas HUD.
  • You need to provide specific information about each member of your family. If there are any changes in your family, you must notify your residential coordinator within 10 business days.
  • Your household’s income must be considered low compared to the area median income. The table below will show low-income limits in Kansas, based on your family size.
Number of families Extremely low-income
1 $38,350
2 $43,850
3 $49,300
4 $54,800

Limits apply to households of up to eight people, however, whether you have more than eight family members, will be noted for consideration.

how to apply for section 8 in kansas

How To Qualify For Section 8 In Kansas?

3. How To Apply For Section 8 In Kansas?

To apply for Section 8 housing in Kansas, you must follow 4 steps:

  • Step 1: Contact your local Public Housing office (PHA) or the Kansas City Regional Office to begin the application process.
  • Step 2: Check PHA’s website and local newspaper for lottery dates. You will receive notification via mail within 120 days of the drawing date. You should apply to more than one due to the extensive waiting list can be.
  • Step 3: Complete the Section 8 application form online or in-person and submit it to the Kansas Public Housing office. Remember to provide copies of all required documents.
  • Step 4: Prepare for an interview to assess your qualifications.

You can receive the voucher within 30 to 60 days if you get approved. After that, you must find an apartment and sign the contract as a tenant, and Pubic Housing Authority (PHA) will pay the landlord directly each month.

Do you take more than a year but didn’t get a Section 8 voucher? To receive Section 8 HCV fast, we can help you here.


4. Section 8 Waiting Lists That Are Open In Kansas

There are 8 Section 8 Waiting Lists in Kansas that are either always open or have not set a deadline until further notice.

  • Butler and Sedgwick County, KS Section 8 HCV Waiting List.
  • East Central Kansas Economic Opportunity Corporation.
  • Lawrence-Douglas County Housing Authority.
  • Leavenworth County, KS Section 8 HCV Waiting List.
  • Manhattan Housing Authority.
  • Multi-County, Kansas.
  • Salina Housing Authority.
  • Sedgwick County Housing Authority.

After this article, Hanfincal believes you figured out how to apply for Section 8 in Kansas. If you still have any questions in the process, please feel free to leave the comment below; we will answer them as soon as possible.

==> Read More: