[ 2 / 5 ]

For those living in California (CA) who need housing help, the American government offers Section 8 housing programs. Here is the guideline on how to apply for Section 8 in California from Hanfincal (hanfincal.com). Don’t overlook it. 

1. What is California Section 8 (Housing Choice Voucher) program?

The California Section 8 program is a federal housing help program that assists low-income families in obtaining affordable, safe, and sanitary housing. The California Section 8 Housing Program, also known as the Housing Choice Voucher Program, is administered by the California Public Housing Authority (PHA), with over 100 offices throughout the state.

The California PHA receives funds directly from the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and uses them to administer its vouchers to beneficiaries. Aside from monthly rent help, a family may use its Section 8 vouchers to buy a reasonably priced home, particularly for first-time home buyers.

2. How to qualify for Section 8 in California?

There are 4 requirements for Section 8 housing in California (CA):

  • Income range: These income eligibility requirements are determined by the size and income of the family. The PHA categorizes applicants into three income levels: low income, very low income, and extremely low income. 
    • Low-income households are defined as 80% or more of the area’s median income.
    • Very low-income households earn less than half of the area’s median income.
    • Extremely low-income households earn less than 30% of the area’s median income.

Remember that nearly 75% of the vouchers are distributed to people with extremely low incomes.

  • Household demographics: Citizens who have younger children, care for the elderly, are pregnant, or are disabled are frequently given preference.
  • Citizenship: Applicants must be either US citizens or registered legal aliens.
  • Disqualifying evictions: Evictions are disqualifying if you have been evicted from any Section 8 program for drug-related criminal activity within the last three years.
How to qualify for Section 8 in California?

How to qualify for Section 8 in California?

3. How to apply for Section 8 in California (CA)?

To apply for Section 8 in California, you must follow 4 steps below :

  • Step 1: Begin contacting your local California Public Housing Authority. Some addresses can be found here.
  • Step 2: After contacting your local PHA, obtain, complete, and submit an application. There could be a paper application, or you could apply online.
  • Step 3: You must wait for the PHA to process your application. Because waiting lists are so long, the California Housing Authority may move people up the list if they are particularly in need. If you have been waiting for a long time, contact the housing authority again and request an answer.
  • Step 4: If your application is approved, you will be admitted to the California Section 8 (Housing Choice Voucher) program and given a housing choice voucher.

Aside from California, if you want to know more information about applying for Section 8 in other states throughout the United States, do not miss this place. It provides you with step-by-step and straightforward guidelines. You can grasp everything you need to know about this incredible program from the government in just a few minutes. If you want to dive into more, click the button below.


Although applying for Section 8 is a relatively simple process, the waiting time may be considerable. Sometimes it lasts for some decades. Hanfincal (hanfincal.com) believes that this guideline on how to apply for Section in California (CA) from the article above can help you take the first step in this challenging process. 

==> Read More: